Welcome to Gun Permit Center’s Online Florida Concealed Weapons Course
Important Things to Know About This Class Before Beginning:
1. Completion of this course does not guarantee you will be granted a Concealed Weapons License. Completion of this course is one of the qualifications, but there may be items in your past that could disqualify you. Final determinations are made by local law enforcement.
3. Having a concealed weapon license such as this does not give you the right to use the weapon without consequences. You always have the right to defend yourself, but if you use lethal force even to defend yourself, you may need to prove that you were in a life threatenting situation to avoid legal consequences. Pay close attention to the section on lethal use of force later on in this course.
4. The Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearm license is not necessary to own a handgun that is always kept at home for self defense in the house. However, if you ever want to carry your handgun on your person or in your purse, backpack, jacket, etc. you DO need a conceal carry license to do so legally.
- Must be 21 years of age or older
- A citizen or permanent resident of The United States
- Does not suffer from a physical infirmity
- Does not have to be a Florida resident
- Is not ineligible to possess a firearm by conviction of a felony
- Has not been committed for the abuse of a controlled substance or has been found guilty of similar crimes of ANY state relating to controlled substances within a 3 year period before the application
- Does not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages or other substances
- Desires a legal means to carry a concealed weapon
- Demonstrates competence with a firearm*
- Reads Florida statutes on weapons, and the use of force
Details on Applying for the Florida Concealed Weapon or Firearms License
All applicants must submit a fingerprint card, a passport type photo, a copy of course completion certificate, and the license fees, currently $112.
Your application can take a maximum of 90 days to be approved or denied. Once approved, your license is good for seven years.
Your license will look like this when it arrives in the mail.
After receiving your license...
If you move, notify the Florida Dept of agriculture and consumer services within 30 days after any change of a permanent address.
If you lose your card you cannot carry until you receive a replacement. To obtain a new card, notify the Florida Dept of Agriculture and Consumer Services (DACS). You will be required to pay a small fee and provide a notarized statement that the license was either lost or destroyed.
The Florida CCW license is administered by:
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Division of Licensing, PO Box 6687, Tallahassee, FL 32314-6687
Phone (850) 245-5691